Over 10 years we help companies reach their financial and branding goals. Maxbizz is a values-driven consulting agency dedicated.




411 University St, Seattle


9th African Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) Honors African Film Talents

The highly anticipated 9th edition of the African Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) took place yesterday, May 20, 2023, at the esteemed Eko Hotel. This prestigious event brought together the finest talents from the African film industry, celebrating their exceptional contributions to the craft.

Among the notable winners was veteran actress Patience Ozokwor, who received the coveted Industry Merit Award in recognition of her remarkable service to the industry. Ozokwor’s enduring talent and dedication have left an indelible mark on African cinema.

Jade Osiberu’s compelling film “Brotherhood” and Kunle Afolayan’s captivating work “Anikulapo” emerged as major winners, securing multiple awards across various categories. “Brotherhood” garnered acclaim for Tobi Bakre’s outstanding performance, earning him the Best Actor in a Drama award, while Osas Ighodaro’s powerful portrayal in “Man of God” earned her the Best Actress in a Drama accolade.

The complete list of winners is as follows:

Best Actor in a Comedy – (Movie/TV Series)
Samuel Perry (Broda Shaggi) – “Brotherhood”

Best Actress in a Comedy – (Movie/TV Series)
Bimbo Ademoye – “Selina”

Best Actor in a Drama – (Movie/TV Series)
Tobi Bakre – “Brotherhood”

Best Actress in a Drama – (Movie/TV Series)
Osas Ighodaro – “Man of God”

Best Supporting Actor (Movie/TV Series)
Abdisattar Ahmed – “Gacal”

Best Supporting Actress (Movie/TV Series)
Efe Irele – “Four Four Forty Four”

Best Short Film
Adeoye Adetunji – “Pa Aromire”

Best Online Social Content Creator
Elozonam, Kie Kie – “Back From The Future”

Best Original Telenovela

Best Unscripted Original
“King Bugar”

Best Original Comedy Series
“Njoro Wa Uba”

Best Original Drama Series

Best Art Director
Wale Adeleke – “King Of Thieves (Agesinkole)”

Best Costume Designer (Movie/TV Series)
Adeola Art-Alade – “The Real Housewives of Lagos (Reunion Episode)”

Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series)
Mathew Yusuf – “Brotherhood”

Best Picture Editor (Movie/TV Series)
Holmes Awa & Daniel Tom – “Crime & Justice”

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series)
Anu Afolayan – “Anikulapo”

Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series)
Kent Edunjobi – “Anikulapo”

Best Makeup (Movie/TV Series)
Maryam Ndukwe, Hakeem Effects Onilogbo – “Shanty Town”

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series)
Sola Dada – “Anikulapo”

Best Cinematographer (Movie/TV Series)
Loukman Ali – “Brotherhood”

Best Movie, Southern Africa
“Jewel” – Elvis Chucks

Best Movie, East Africa
“Click Click Bang” – Philip Karanja Njenga

Best Movie, West Africa
“Brotherhood” – Jade Osiberu

Best Television Series
“Crime & Justice” – Yinka Edward

Best Documentary
“Nigeria-the Debut” – Nora Awolowo

Best Director
Loukman Ali – “Brotherhood”

The Multichoice Talent Factory Film

Best Indigenous Language, Swahili (Movie/TV Series)
Philip Karanja Njenga – “Click Click Bang”

Best Indigenous Language, Yoruba (Movie/TV Series)
“Anikulapo” – Kunle Afolayan

Best Indigenous Language, Hausa (Movie/TV Series)
“Aisha” – Abubakar Bashir Maishadda

Best Indigenous Language, Igbo (Movie/TV Series)
“Uhuruchi” – Victor Iyke

Best Overall Movie, Africa
“Anikulapo” – Kunle Afolayan

Industry Merit Award
Patience Ozokwor

The Trailblazer Award
Angel Onigwe

Best Dressed Male
Enioluwa Adeoluwa

Best Dressed Female
Beauty Tukura

The AMVCA once again showcased the immense talent and creativity present in the African film industry. As the winners take their well-deserved accolades, they continue to inspire and uplift the cinematic landscape, paving the way for future generations of African filmmakers and actors.


Ademola Adeyemi

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *